Skip to main content

Scb Medical College & Hospital Cuttack

 In 1875, a large-hearted Briton Dr. Stewart, the then Civil Surgeon of Cuttack, mooted out the idea of starting a medical school utilizing the existing hospital known as Cuttack General Hospital (1874) as an infrastructural nucleus. He was ably assisted by Mr. T. Ravenshaw and Sir Richard Temple and thus the Odisha Medical School was born in 1875. In 1916-17, the Odisha Medical School was affiliated to Bihar & Odisha Medical Examination Board.

Maharaja Krishna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Dev founded the first University, i.e. Utkal Univrsity on 27th of November, 1943. After establishment of the University, many eminent persons of Odisha put their efforts to form the medical school to a Medical College in 1943 and the Degree of this Medical College was recognised in 1952 with retrospective effect.

SCB Medical College Cuttack Gate
 The munificent Maharaja of Mayurbhanj made generous donations for establishment of this College and it was, therefore, befitting on the part of the Government to re-name the Odisha Medical College after the Maharaja, as Shrirama Chandra Bhanja Medical College & Hospital.

Total Hopital Bed Accommodation :

With the gradual popularity of the Institution and growing needs of the people, the bed strength of the hospital was raised from time to time.
 The bed strength of the hospital was 215 in 1933, 227 in 1938, 246 in 1946, 335 in 1951, 535 in 1952, 747 in 1959, 756 in 1962, 892 in 1964, 954 in 1965, 1040 in 1966 and 1080 since May’68 and now 1107 (with 12 beds under post partum of Accidental service unit of 10 beds).


Management : Government of Orissa
Year of Foundation : 1944
Year of recognition by M.C.I.
Undergraduate - 1951
Postgraduate - 1962


M.B.B.S. Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery
B.D.S. Bachelor of Dental Surgery
MD Medicinae Doctor / Doctor of Medicine
MS Master of Surgery
DM Doctor of Medicine
M.Ch. Magister Chirurgiae / Master of Surgery
DNB Diplomate of National Board

Ph.D. Doctor of Philosophy


You May Like to Read

Popular posts from this blog

171 Bus Master Canteen To Puri Route

DTS 171 City bus from Master Canteen To Puri Route,  starts at 7 A.M. from  Master Canteen and Puri. The last city bus number 171 is at 7.30 P.M. in the evening from Puri. 
Bus Stoppages on 171 Route The 171 city bus route includes Kalpana Chhaka, Kedar Gauri Temple, Uttara, Pipili Nimapara chhaka, Danda Mukunda Pur, Sakhi gopala, Medical Chhaka and Puri.
Download 171 Bus route map

OTV NEWS FUSE Email Address Live

Write Email to Odisha TV OTV NEWS FUSE by sending to the following email address given below. The OTV Website is available with Live News.

Email: Email: Mobile: 9237024904
Call On (Monday,Wednesday & Friday) – ( 3 PM to 5 PM)