Skip to main content

Ravenshaw College Cuttack

RAVENSHAW COLLEGE CUTTACK ODISHA The history of Ravenshaw College is virtually the history of modern Odisha and it is said that anybody who is somebody in Odisha is a Ravenshawvian. A small school established in 1841 was raised to the status of a College affiliated to the Calcutta University in 1875 through the efforts of Mr. T.E. Ravenshaw. It was the great famine of 1866 in which a million people perished which made the then government conscious of the fact that the seriousness of the situation would not be realized because of lack of proper education in the state. The famine occurred during the tenure of office of Mr. Ravenshaw as Commissioner and paradoxically he has left behind his name to conjure with more than a Century now. It seems proper to refer to  the connection between the famine and the spread of liberal education just to draw the attention of the present generation to the fact that education alone will bring effective solutions to the problems of the country.

The present building of the Ravenshaw College situated over a land of eighty-seven acres was laid on November 11, 1919, by Sri Edward Gait, the then Lt. Governor of  Bihar & Odisha. The new building was inaugurated in July, 1921. The government has now taken a decision to declare the Ravenshaw College as a Deemed University.

The other important educational institutions in Cuttack are Revenshaw Collegiate Schoo Pyarimohan  Academy, Ravenshaw Girls' High School, Bhaktamadhu Vidyapitha, Stewart School; Stewart Science College, Christ College, Madhu Sudan Law College, Christ Collegiate School, Cambridge School, Convent Girls' School, Odisha School of Engineering, Radhanath Training College and J.B. Womens College.


  1. This blog is very much helpful to us. Thanks for your information



Post a Comment

You May Like to Read

Popular posts from this blog

171 Bus Master Canteen To Puri Route

DTS 171 City bus from Master Canteen To Puri Route,  starts at 7 A.M. from  Master Canteen and Puri. The last city bus number 171 is at 7.30 P.M. in the evening from Puri. 
Bus Stoppages on 171 Route The 171 city bus route includes Kalpana Chhaka, Kedar Gauri Temple, Uttara, Pipili Nimapara chhaka, Danda Mukunda Pur, Sakhi gopala, Medical Chhaka and Puri.
Download 171 Bus route map

OTV NEWS FUSE Email Address Live

Write Email to Odisha TV OTV NEWS FUSE by sending to the following email address given below. The OTV Website is available with Live News.

Email: Email: Mobile: 9237024904
Call On (Monday,Wednesday & Friday) – ( 3 PM to 5 PM)

333 Bus Lingaraj Temple To Ghatikia Route

DTS 333 City bus from Lingaraj Temple To Ghatikia Bhubaneswar Route, starts at 7 A.M. from  Master Canteen and Ghatikia. The last city bus number 333 is at 8.30 P.M. from Master Canteen and 8.00 P.M. from Ghatikia in the evening.

Bus Stopages on 333 Route The 333 city bus route includes Lingaraj Mandir, Barik Sahi Chhaka, Kalpana, Master Canteen, Kalyan Mandap, CRPF Square, Baramunda, Khandagiri Square, Jayadav Vatika and Ghatikia.

Download 333 Bus route map